AAST Delegation Leader

Delegation Leaders are selected by the professional association to represent the members and the goals of the association.  Delegation leaders provide the initial vision and guidance in the development of the professional program. Delegation Leaders assist in facilitating the professional dialog, greeting hosts and representing the delegation members while in the field.

David H. Livingston, MD, FACS, Wesley J. Howe Professor of Surgery

Chief of the Division of Trauma, Surgical Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery, Rutgers- New Jersey Medical School.

Dr. Livingston is a graduate of Albany Medical College and completed his surgical residency at New York University/Bellevue Medical Center and his fellowship in trauma at the University of Louisville.  Dr. Livingston has served in leadership positions in many organizations including President of the Western Trauma Association (2014) and the current President of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma. He is an Associate Member of the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators of the American College of Surgeons. He is an associate editor for the Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery, a reviewer for the America College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma and was a member of the National Quality Forum panel on Trauma Outcomes. He is Chair of the New Jersey State Trauma System Advisory Council. His CV lists over 200 publications and 30 book chapters. He has been funded from numerous sources including the NIH and AHCPR. He has received several honors including The Charles W. Putman Award Distinguished Mentor Award from the Association of Women Surgeons, UMDNJ’s Excellence Award in Patient Care and Exceptional Service Award.