ADEA Delegation Leader

Delegation Leaders are selected by the professional association to represent the members and the goals of the association.  Delegation leaders provide the initial vision and guidance in the development of the professional program. Delegation Leaders assist in facilitating the professional dialog, greeting hosts and representing the delegation members while in the field.

Ana López-Fuentes, D.M.D., M.P.H.

Ana López-Fuentes, D.M.D., M.P.H., has been appointed Dean of the University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine (UPR SDM). Dr. López-Fuentes assumed the position on November 12, 2014. She previously served as Associate Dean within the school.

Dr. López-Fuentes has worked at the University since 1988 and was the first director of their dental assisting program. In this position, she started the local celebration of Give Kids A Smile Day, which will celebrate its 10th anniversary in 2015.

She created the UPR SDM Infection Control and Quality Assurance Protocols and currently acts as a consultant in Infection Control and Risk Management. Dr. López-Fuentes is the continuing education speaker in infection control for Puerto Rico.

Dr. López-Fuentes has been a member of ADEA for more than two decades, previously serving on the Annual Session Program Committee and currently serving on the Women’s Affairs Advisory Committee.

She is the second female dean since UPR SDM opened in 1957.

Dr. López-Fuentes succeeds Noel J. Aymat, D.M.D., FAAPD, J.D. Dr. Aymat served as Acting Dean since June 2013