ENA Delegation Leaders

Delegation Leaders are selected by the professional association to represent the members and the goals of the association.  Delegation leaders provide the initial vision and guidance in the development of the professional program. Delegation Leaders assist in facilitating the professional dialog, greeting hosts and representing the delegation members while in the field.

Vanessa Gorman, MSN, RN, CCRN, FAEN, FCENA

Vanessa Gorman was born and resides in Melbourne, Australia. She has worked in emergency nursing in Australia for over 25 years and is a highly accomplished emergency care professional with senior level experience across healthcare and State Government. Vanessa has been a member of CENA, the Australian equivalent of ENA and is an inducted fellow into both emergency nursing associations. Vanessa has worked across many facilities, including tertiary and metropolitan hospital settings in Australia. She has held positions such as staff nurse, educator, nurse manager and most recently as the Senior Operations Manager for the state-led COVID-19 response for Victoria, Australia.

Ms. Gorman joined ENA in mid-2000s as she was looking to work with like-minded people around the world. Since 2016 she has been actively involved with the International Advisory Council, serving as the chair in 2019 & 2020.

Ms. Gorman has completed her bachelor’s degree in nursing program in Australia and went onto earn a graduate diploma in emergency nursing and healthcare management and a masters in specialty nursing. She holds TNCC, ITLS and TNP accreditation


Ron Kraus is the immediate past president of the Emergency Nurses Association. He is in his sixth year on the ENA Board of Directors.

Kraus grew up in the small town of Walton, Indiana, earning the highest rank of Eagle Scout from the Scouts BSA. He earned his bachelor’s degree in nursing, with a minor in biology, from Indiana University in 1996. At Indiana, he was active in leadership roles on campus, including president of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity.

Kraus joined ENA in 1996, just weeks into his first job as an emergency department nurse. Now a lifetime member, he has been actively involved in multiple ENA leadership roles at the local, state and national level, including as a chapter president, state membership chairperson, co-author of a successful national resolution in 2011, Indiana ENA State Council president in 2012, and as a member of many national committees. Kraus is also an experienced national speaker.

Kraus has served patients as a staff nurse, charge nurse and flight nurse. He earned his master’s degree in nursing as a clinical nurse specialist from Indiana University in 2009, and currently serves as the emergency department clinical nurse specialist at Magnet-designated Indiana University Health Methodist Hospital, a large academic urban Level I trauma center in Indianapolis. He received the Indiana ENA State Council Clinical Nurse Specialist of the Year Award in 2015.

Kraus continues to utilize his experience as a leader in multiple organizations to advocate, educate and network to provide the optimum care for patients in a safe environment and with a goal to advance the unique specialty of emergency nursing.