SCCM Delegation Leader

Delegation Leaders are selected by the professional association to represent the members and the goals of the association.  Delegation leaders provide the initial vision and guidance in the development of the professional program. Delegation Leaders assist in facilitating the professional dialog, greeting hosts and representing the delegation members while in the field.

Dr. Joseph Christopher Farmer

Doctor Farmer has established several foundational international critical care programs. He is a founder of the United States Department of Defense Critical Care Aeromedical Transport Team (CCATT) program, now the largest critical care transport system in the world. He was the founding Editor-in-Chief, Multidisciplinary Critical Care Knowledge Assessment Program (MCCKAP), the in-training examination administered to pediatric and adult critical care fellows in the US. He was also an initial program developer and textbook editor, Fundamental Critical Care Support (FCCS) program. This SCCM course exists globally with a companion textbook in numerous languages; more than 150,000 students have completed the FCCS course since its inception. Doctor Farmer also served as the founder and textbook editor for the SCCM Fundamental Disaster Management (FDM) program, also taught globally in multiple languages. He has additionally written and edited several books on disaster medicine published by The Joint Commission and the Society of Critical Care Medicine.

Doctor Farmer has received numerous awards for teaching excellence from Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, including a 2015 Lifetime Achievement Education Award from the Critical Care Fellowship training programs. In 2006 he was named Distinguished Alumnus, McGovern Medical School, The University of Texas. He twice received the Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Critical Care Medicine. In 2011, he received a Lifetime Achievement Award, International Pan-Arab Critical Care Medicine Society. He is the 2015 Mitchell P. Fink Scholar, University of Pittsburgh, Department of Critical Care Medicine. In 2020, he was selected as Master, American College of Critical Care Medicine. As a nationally and internationally recognized innovator and leader in military medicine, Doctor Farmer was formally acknowledged and received the Air Force Association (AFA) Paul W. Myers Outstanding Physician Award, US Air Force, and the Zachary Fisher Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Award, Department of Defense, both for his work with the development of the CCATT program